John Zialcita NMLS #337891 · Loan Factory NMLS #320841
John ZialcitaMortgage Broker · NMLS #337891 LinkedIn(415) 385-7409
Coast in Hawaii

What are the 2026 conforming and jumbo loan limits in Hawaii and California?

For 2026, a one-unit loan is jumbo above $832,750 in baseline California counties, above $1,249,125 in the highest-cost California counties and in Honolulu, Hawaii County, and Kauai, and above $1,299,500 in Maui and Kalawao. The tables below are the FHFA county limits.

NMLS #337891 · CA DRE #01727126 · Loan Factory, Inc. NMLS #320841

What is the difference between a conforming loan and a jumbo loan?

A conforming loan is at or under the loan limit FHFA sets for that county and unit count. FHFA says loans above that origination balance are jumbo loans, because Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are limited to buying mortgages under the cap.

These figures are not interest rates. Pricing, if you want it, is on the pricing tool, which is not a commitment to lend.

What are the 2026 baseline and ceiling?

FHFA announced on November 25, 2025 that the baseline one-unit limit for 2026 is $832,750, up $26,250 from 2025. The one-unit ceiling in high-cost areas of the contiguous United States is $1,249,125, which is 150 percent of the baseline. For Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, FHFA set the one-unit baseline at $1,249,125 and the one-unit ceiling at $1,873,675.

2026 baseline and ceiling amounts. One-unit baseline and ceilings are stated in the FHFA news release of November 25, 2025. Multi-unit baseline and contiguous ceiling amounts are the figures in the 2026 county file for counties at those caps. Hawaii multi-unit ceiling amounts are not stated in that release and are not shown here.
Limit1-unit2-unit3-unit4-unit
Baseline, most of the U.S.$832,750$1,066,250$1,288,800$1,601,750
Ceiling, contiguous high-cost counties$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Hawaii statutory baseline (one-unit from the news release; 2- to 4-unit from Hawaii counties at that baseline)$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Hawaii statutory ceiling$1,873,675———

No Hawaii county reaches the $1,873,675 one-unit ceiling in the 2026 county file. Use the county rows below to tell whether a loan is jumbo. The Hawaii multi-unit ceiling is not stated in the news release, so it is left off this page.

What are the 2026 conforming limits for each Hawaii county?

Honolulu, Hawaii County, and Kauai are at the Hawaii baseline. Maui and Kalawao are higher. A new loan above the number for that county and unit count is jumbo.

FHFA conforming loan limits for Hawaii counties, calendar year 2026. Source: FHFA full county file.
County1-unit2-unit3-unit4-unit
Hawaii County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Honolulu County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Kalawao County$1,299,500$1,663,600$2,010,950$2,499,100
Kauai County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Maui County$1,299,500$1,663,600$2,010,950$2,499,100

Which California counties are above the 2026 baseline?

Seventeen counties. Ten of them sit at the $1,249,125 one-unit ceiling. Seven are between the baseline and the ceiling, including San Diego at $1,104,000 for one unit.

California counties whose 2026 one-unit limit is above $832,750. Source: FHFA full county file.
County1-unit2-unit3-unit4-unit
Alameda County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Contra Costa County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Los Angeles County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Marin County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Monterey County$994,750$1,273,450$1,539,350$1,913,000
Napa County$1,017,750$1,302,900$1,574,900$1,957,250
Orange County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
San Benito County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
San Diego County$1,104,000$1,413,350$1,708,400$2,123,100
San Francisco County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
San Luis Obispo County$1,000,500$1,280,850$1,548,250$1,924,100
San Mateo County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Santa Barbara County$941,850$1,205,750$1,457,450$1,811,300
Santa Clara County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Santa Cruz County$1,249,125$1,599,375$1,933,200$2,402,625
Sonoma County$897,000$1,148,350$1,388,050$1,725,050
Ventura County$1,035,000$1,325,000$1,601,600$1,990,450

Which California counties use the 2026 baseline?

These 41 counties use $832,750 for one unit, $1,066,250 for two units, $1,288,800 for three units, and $1,601,750 for four units. A one-unit loan above $832,750 in any of them is jumbo.

  • Alpine
  • Amador
  • Butte
  • Calaveras
  • Colusa
  • Del Norte
  • El Dorado
  • Fresno
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Imperial
  • Inyo
  • Kern
  • Kings
  • Lake
  • Lassen
  • Madera
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Modoc
  • Mono
  • Nevada
  • Placer
  • Plumas
  • Riverside
  • Sacramento
  • San Bernardino
  • San Joaquin
  • Shasta
  • Sierra
  • Siskiyou
  • Solano
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Trinity
  • Tulare
  • Tuolumne
  • Yolo
  • Yuba

How do I tell if my refinance is jumbo?

Compare the new loan amount with the limit for the county and the number of units. If the origination balance is above that limit, FHFA treats the loan as jumbo. The home price can be higher than the limit without the loan being jumbo, if the loan amount is not.

Next: what a jumbo refinance is, jumbo cash-out refinance, Hawaii, and California.

Loan limit questions

What is the 2026 conforming loan limit in Honolulu County?

For one unit, $1,249,125. Two-unit is $1,599,375, three-unit is $1,933,200, and four-unit is $2,402,625. A loan above the limit for the unit count is jumbo.

What is the 2026 conforming loan limit in Maui County?

For one unit, $1,299,500. Kalawao County uses the same limits. Two-unit is $1,663,600, three-unit is $2,010,950, and four-unit is $2,499,100.

What is the 2026 conforming loan limit in Los Angeles County?

Los Angeles County is at the 2026 contiguous ceiling: $1,249,125 for one unit, $1,599,375 for two units, $1,933,200 for three units, and $2,402,625 for four units. Orange County uses the same limits.

What is the 2026 conforming loan limit in San Diego County?

For one unit, $1,104,000. Two-unit is $1,413,350, three-unit is $1,708,400, and four-unit is $2,123,100. That is above the $832,750 baseline and below the $1,249,125 ceiling.

What is the 2026 conforming loan limit in Sacramento County?

Sacramento County is at the 2026 baseline: $832,750 for one unit, $1,066,250 for two units, $1,288,800 for three units, and $1,601,750 for four units.

Is the conforming limit based on the home price or the loan amount?

FHFA describes the conforming loan limit as a cap on the origination balance of the mortgage. A mortgage above the limit for that county and unit count is what FHFA calls a jumbo loan. It is not a cap on the sale price of the house.

Did conforming loan limits increase for 2026?

FHFA set the baseline one-unit limit at $832,750 and said that is an increase of $26,250 from 2025. County numbers on this page are the 2026 figures. This page does not republish the 2025 county tables.

Where do these numbers come from?

The November 25, 2025 FHFA news release and FHFA full county file for calendar year 2026. This page was checked against those files on October 30, 2026.

Equal Housing Opportunity. This is not a commitment to lend. Programs, rates, terms and conditions are subject to change without notice and subject to credit and property approval. Loan Factory, Inc. is a mortgage broker, not a direct lender.

Checked October 30, 2026 against FHFA, Conforming Loan Limit Values for 2026 (November 25, 2025) and the 2026 full county loan limit list (CSV), linked from FHFA conforming loan limits.

<